Databases

Visitors to the library have access to a wide variety of electronic databases; however, remote access to subscription databases is restricted to State Library authorized users: state employees and, unless otherwise noted, Thomas Edison staff and students. Authorized users needing a State Library access card, should complete the appropriate online registration form.

Transmission or reproduction of items beyond that permitted by fair use requires the permission of the copyright owners. It is the user's responsibility to determine and comply with all restrictions based upon the intended use of the materials.

All users are expected to respect the intellectual property rights of licensed material. Failure to do so will result in loss of access.

You can browse through our databases below, or use the following menus to narrow your search:


990 Finder

Remote access: Yes

A database of private foundation tax returns (Form 990-PF).  Searchable by foundation name or employer identification number.

ABI/INFORM Complete

Remote access: Authorized Users

This ProQuest database is recognized as the premier electronic database for coverage of subjects related to current business, management, industry and product information. It is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. It includes thousands of full text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, and country and industry focused reports and data that provide a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Full-text is available for over 5,500 titles.

Academic OneFile

Remote access: Authorized Users

A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Academic Search Complete

Remote access: Authorized Users

Supports scholarly research in key areas of academic study, providing nearly 9,100 full text periodicals, over 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, as well as reports and books.  Subjects include anthropology, engineering, law, science and technology, social sciences, humanities, medical sciences, ethnic studies and much more. 

Academic Search Premier

Remote access: Authorized Users

Provides full text for over 4,600 publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language, arts, literature, medical sciences and ethnic studies.

AGRICOLA

Remote access: Yes

A bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature. Created by the National Agricultural Library, the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century.

AGRIS

Remote access: Yes

Indexes and abstracts world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature. Updated continuously.  Coverage from 1975 to date.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

Remote access: Authorized Users

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.  Content is updated monthly.

Alt-HealthWatch

Remote access: Authorized Users

Full text articles from over 170 peer-reviewed and professional journals and consumer newsletters, focusing on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

America: History and Life  

Remote access: Authorized Users

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises over 450,000 bibliographic entries. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, it also includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.

American Fact Finder

Remote access: Yes

The official source for Census 2010 and Census 2000 data. 

American Religion Data Archive

Remote access: Yes

The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA), funded by the Lilly Endowment, Inc., preserves quantitative data on American religion and allows comparisons across data files. The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

Ancestry Library Edition

Remote access: No

Ancestry Library Edition offers a wide range of materials for those interested in genealogy and history. Categories include the census; vital and church records; military records; court, land and probate records; passenger lists and much more.

ASSIST Online

Remote access: Yes

The official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. Many documents are available in full text.

Associations Unlimited

Remote access: Authorized Users

Contains information for approximately 460,000 U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, plus international organizations. Includes IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.

Benefits.gov

Remote access: Yes

An online screening tool that helps individuals find government benefits that they may be eligible to receive and provides information about how to apply for those programs.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Remote access: Authorized Users

Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Biography and Genealogy Master Index will enable you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million

Biography Collection Complete

Remote access: Authorized Users

Features more than 177,000 full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government and politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas.

Biography Reference Bank

Remote access: Authorized Users

Provides in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography, World Authors and Junior Authors & Illustrators series, plus biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.

BioOne (BioOne.1 and BioOne.2)

Remote access: Authorized Users

Provides full text of high-impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Most of BioOne’s titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Mobile access is available. See Mobile Resources for more information.

Bloomberg BNA Labor and Employment Law Resource Center

Remote access: No

This database includes exclusive legal analysis and practice tools from the nations leading labor and employment law experts, together with Bloomberg BNAs renowned news coverage and comprehensive primary source information.  Access is only available onsite at the public computers in the Law Library.

Bloomberg BNA Tax and Accounting Center

Remote access: No

Organized by subject or practice areas, this database offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international and state tax issues and financial accounting.  Access is only available onsite at the public computers in the Law Library.

Books in Print Professional

Remote access: Authorized Users

A comprehensive database containing over 5 million book, audio and video titles. Includes reviews, full publisher information, monthly updates, and out-of-print listings.

Buros: Test Reviews Online

Remote access: Yes

Online test information from Mental Measurements Yearbook. Alphabetical, subject, and keyword searching is available. Brief descriptions are free; reviews are $15 per test.

Business Source Premier

Remote access: Authorized Users

Provides full text for over 2300 journals, including more than 1100 peer-reviewed titles.  Covers business, marketing, accounting, management, economics, finance, banking and more.